Fresh Coriander Coconut Chutney

From the wet market

A few nights ago, as I spooned huge quantities of this very moreish chutney into a bowl of soup, I was reminded of my first Indian meal.

Even at the tender age of 10 or so, I fancied myself an adventurous eater, and when my parents took my brother and I to Diwana, a South Indian vegetarian restaurant near London’s Euston Station, I ambitiously ordered a huge thali.

I quickly discovered that my tastebuds weren’t nearly as adventurous as I believed. A mysterious green substance – which I now know to have been something like this chutney – proved a particular challenge, and I spent the meal pushing my food around, annoyed with myself.

Chutney

Happily our palates grow up as we do, so I post this recipe in memory of all those childish likes and dislikes that we throw off as we grow up. In my case, this has…

View original post 237 mots de plus

Laisser un commentaire

